Diving from Dissatisfaction

July 9, 2013

fallingI’m reading a lot of books at the moment. I’m reading Flowers for Algernon and The Great Gastby (again) as part of my summer school ELA teaching experience. I’m also reading Flip Your Classroom in preparation for the next school year. Most importantly, I’m re-reading When You’re Falling, Dive which was given to me by a dear friend a few years ago and has been quite influential on me.

When You’re Falling is basically about acceptance of life as it really is, and about counteracting the conditioning that we’ve learned over the years. Here are a few quotes for the first section followed by my current thoughts on each:

“It’s not that we gain the power to change circumstances; we develop the skill to determine our experience of those circumstances.” (page 4)

This is one I really picked up on the first time I read it. Now, when I’m feeling blue (for a reason or just because I’m having an “off” day) I let myself experience it. I don’t try to fight it; I accept that being sad at times is part of life.

“I’ve stopped trying to make myself better, and I’m happier.” (page 43)

This one is particularly interesting. When you think about it, self-help books in general are feeding the conditioning that says “I am not good enough as I am” under the guise of helping you.

“…dissatisfaction is at the root of our addiction to distraction.” (page 52)

How much of life is about distraction?  Entertainment or work or even love can be a way to distract ourselves from the reality of life. What are we afraid to face?

2 Responses to “Diving from Dissatisfaction”

  1. kimberly lanowy said

    I spent a Sat this spring at a conference on blended learning and flipped classrooms! Let me know how the book is!
    ps- 2nd interview in Middletown ,again! Hopefully I get the superintendents vote this time! so nerve racking. I really dont want to go back to the Met 😦

  2. tonykulla said

    My fingers are crossed for you!

    Liz tried the flipped classroom thing in Chemistry and had some success with it.

Leave a Reply

