January 18, 2013

gotye

I’ve been craving more new music lately after being exposed to Gotye and Kimbra. Today I came across this easy to navigate Amazon top 100 of 2012 and listened to each preview and purchased the ones I thought were interesting. Here’s what I chose:

Ho Hey by The Lumineers
Thrift Shop (feat. Wanz) [Explicit] by Macklemore & Ryan Lewis
Myth by Beach House
Little Talks by Of Monsters And Men
Till Death by Barcelona
It’s Time by Imagine Dragons
Counting by Autre Ne Veut
Adorn by Miguel
Radioactive by Imagine Dragons
Sleep by Allen Stone
Fineshrine by Purity Ring
Poppin’ Off [Explicit] by Watch the Duck
Lost In The Light by Bahamas
Tessellate by alt-J
Faithful Man by The Expressions Lee Fields
Madness by Muse
I Won’t Give Up by Jason Mraz
Begin Again by Taylor Swift
Let Her Go by Passenger
Henrietta by Yeasayer
Writer’s Block [Explicit] by Brother Ali

It’s an eclectic mix, and I’m curious how many of them I’ll like enough to listen to repeatedly. I might go through the Top 100 Selling Songs list too after I’m done with these, but I suspect I won’t like as many in that list.

2 Responses to “”

  1. tonykulla said

    So far I’m really loving Madness, Let Her Go, and It’s Time*. It’s amazing to me how 80s most of this stuff sounds to me, which I suppose isn’t surprising since that decade is the retro period of choice these days. Most of the songs I downloaded seem quite good, but the hip hop tracks aren’t working for me this morning. I have to be in a very specific mood for that stuff though so the jury is still out.

    *Poppin Off has replaced It’s Time in my three song rotation. It sounds like a song “sung” by a Samuel L. Jackson character (except for that lame Star Wars jedi knight he played) with crazy synth instrumental parts and edits.

  2. […] while listening to that and all the other music I’ve been into lately I became spoiled by the quality of the sound coming out of those Beats. […]

Leave a Reply

