Not the college known for football…

October 25, 2011

I was recently thinking about where I would like to go the next chance I get to travel, and I think I’ve decided on Paris. After reading The Greater Journey I was sky high on France but I didn’t know if my fascination would last. Paris is really a no-brainer as far as travel destinations go; there is so much history and architecture and great food and wine. It has all the appeal of Rome when it comes to such things. Yet before this year I’ve never really thought about going there (technically I’ve been there , the airport at least, on the way to Athens). I think it all stems from my dislike of French class when I was in 7th-9th grades. I suppose I just didn’t like my teachers or was just into other things at the time (Dungeons & Dragons, basketball and computer programming) and French wasn’t useful in any of those. In hindsight, I wish I would have learned to speak it since it would be helpful in learning Spanish and Italian as well.

As for the photo, the Notre Dame de Paris (translates to Our Lady of Paris) is a beautiful gothic cathedral that was completed in 1345 (it was started nearly 200 years earlier). It features those dramatic flying buttresses, some of which were not in the original design but were added because the relatively thin walls were showing signs of structural stress (sometimes mistakes yield wonderful things). When I was reading about all the events that happened at the cathedral over the years, one stood out to me. In 1450 the Wolves of Paris were killed outside the cathedral. At first I thought this must have been the name of some rebellious group, but it turns out that it was an actual pack of wolves that found a way through the wall of the city in the winter and killed 40 people! What a different world it must have been back then.

One Response to “Not the college known for football…”

  1. Paris is my favorite city in the world. You must go!

Leave a Reply

